What I want for Mothers Day That Even My Kids Can’t To Give Me

Time.

I want more time to spend with my little ones- yes I am a stay at home Mama but time is stealing away precious moments that I won’t be able to get back.

I look at my youngest who is now a year old, I think back on how she was crawling just a few months ago.

I look at my three year old who is learning her ABCs and has just started colouring in the lines! (Wasn’t I just changing her nappy and nursing her to sleep?)

I look at my 11 year old who’s legs are as long as mine and think of the day I gave birth to her…. I still remember the day like it was yesterday.

Time has taken these moments and made it into memories.

Photos and video footage allows us a glimpse of these events but never again will we get to have these same experiences. There will be some that are similar but not the same.

I have new ones to look forward to of course but time will eventually take those as well.

So the thing that I really want that my kids can’t buy me is more time to be a Mama to my precious little ones.

This poem really resonates with me.

I first read it when I was 16  years old and it came in the form of a chain letter in my inbox- the next time I read it was in the Time Ferris book the Four Hour Work Week. 

It’s funny how it takes on such a different meaning now that time is travelling so fast for me.

Have you ever watched kids
on a merry-go-round
Or listened to the rain
slapping on the ground?

Ever followed a butterfly’s erratic flight
Or gazed at the sun into the fading night?
You better slow down
Don’t dance so fast
Time is short
The music won’t last

Do you run through each day
on the fly
When you ask “How are you?”
do you hear the reply?

When the day is done,
do you lie in your bed
With the next hundred chores
running through your head?

You’d better slow down
Don’t dance so fast
Time is short
The music won’t last

Ever told your child,
We’ll do it tomorrow
And in your haste,
not see his sorrow?

Ever lost touch,
Let a good friendship die
‘Cause you never had time
to call and say “Hi”?

You’d better slow down
Don’t dance so fast
Time is short
The music won’t last

When you run so fast to get somewhere
You miss half the fun of getting there.
When you worry and hurry through your day,
It is like an unopened gift….
Thrown away…

Life is not a race.
Do take it slower
Hear the music
Before the song is over. 

Author Unknown

2 thoughts on “What I want for Mothers Day That Even My Kids Can’t To Give Me

Leave a Reply

